EUSP
Site map Search Russian  version
 
University News Admission Curriculum IMARS Summer Schools Departments Academic Life Library


Up
Faculty and Staff

Departments >>

Center for Environmental and Technological History

"Центр экологической и технологической истории (русская версия)"

The Center for Environmental and Technological History (CETH) of the European University at St. Petersburg (EUSP) is a part of its Department of History. CETH is a research center that also aims at broadening its functions to help young college and university teachers of history in North-Western Russia who wish to develop new curricula in environmental history and the history of technology. Dr. Julia Lajus is its current director.

The Center currently supports studies in several directions:

  • History and sociology of environmental knowledge and attitudes
  • Social and cultural history of recreation
  • Environmental and technological history of waterworks (irrigation, canal building etc.)
  • Urban environmental history (urban waste, water treatment etc.)
  • Technology in Russian modernization
  • Marine environmental history
  • Environmental history of Russian North
  • The use of GIS in environmental history studies
  • Oral history of Soviet science and technology projects

The major collective research project in the Center is on marine environmental history of Russian North - a part of international multi-centered program "History of Marine Animal Populations" (HMAP) funded by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation as a part of even larger program "Census of Marine Life". HMAP-Russia team includes 9 researchers, both historians and biologists, from Arkhangelsk, Moscow and St. Petersburg. Prof. Daniel Alexandrov also heads this team, and Julia Lajus its project manager. The main focus of the project is on compiling and analyzing data on long-term dynamic of marine animal populations and their human "predators".

The Center for Environmental and Technological History is carrying out research and organizing workshops and summer schools in environmental and technological history. In July 2003 CETH hosted International Summer School on New Trends in Historical Research "Cultural Studies vis-a-vis Environmental History, History of Technology, and Economic History" sponsored by Volkswagen Foundation and organized together with the Max-Planck Institute for History (Goettingen) and the Max-Planck Institute for the History of Science (Berlin).

 

Center for Environmental and Technological History
Department of History, European University at St. Petersburg
3 Gagarinskaia Street, St. Petersburg 191187
tel. +7-(812)-275-5141
 fax +7-(812)-275-5139
 

©2000-2006 European University at St Petersburg
 Tel.: (812) 275-5137, Fax: (812) 275-5139
 office@eu.spb.ru

University
| News | Admission | Curriculum | IMARS | Summer Schools | Departments | Academic Life | Library | Site map | Search | Russian version

Европейский университет в Санкт-Петербурге
Карта сайта Поиск English
 
Университет Новости Прием Обучение Факультеты и центры Проекты Научная жизнь Библиотека


Выше уровнем
Семинары
Cотрудники Центра
Архив

Факультеты и центры >> факультет истории

Центр экологической и технологической истории
Center for Environmental and Technological History (English version)

Центр экологической и технологической истории (ЦЭТИ) - подразделение факультета истории Европейского университета в Санкт-Петербурге (ЕУСПб). Целью Центра является проведение исследований в области экологической истории и истории технологий, а также оказание помощи молодым ученым и преподавателям ВУЗов Северо-Запада России, стремящимся развивать новые направления в истории.

Директор - Юлия Александровна Лайус

Центр проводит исследования по следующим направлениям:

  • История и социология представлений о природе;
  • Морская экологическая история;
  • Технологии в процессе модернизации в России;
  • Экологическая история города (городские отходы, обработка воды и т.д.);
  • Экологическая и технологическая история водных систем (ирригация, строительства каналов и т.д.);
  • Социальная и культуральная история рекреации;
  • Экологическая история Русского Севера;
  • Использование ГИС (географических информационных систем) в экологической истории;
  • Устная история советской науки и технологии.

В настоящее время основной коллективный исследовательский проект Центра направлен на изучение морской экологической истории Русского Севера. Он является частью международной программы "History of Marine Animal Populations" (HMAP), финансируемой Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, которая, в свою очередь, входит в состав глобального научного проекта "Census of Marine Life". В состав российской группы входят 9 исследователей, как историков, так и биологов, из Архангельска, Москвы и Санкт-Петербурга. Цель проекта заключается в сборе и анализе данных, отражающих долговременные колебания популяций морских видов рыб и животных в бассейне Белого и Баренцева морей. Руководителем проекта является Д.А. Александров, координатором - Ю.А. Лайус.

Наряду с исследовательской работой, Центр занимается реализацией образовательных программ, проводя семинары  и летние школы по экологической и технологической истории. В июле-августе 2003 года на базе Центра совместно с Институтом истории Макса Планка (Геттинген, Германия) и Институтом истории науки Макса Планка (Берлин) при поддержке Volkswagen Foundation была проведена международная летняя школа, посвященная новым направлениям в исторической науке "Новая история и теория культуры - экономическая история, экологическая история и технологическая история".

Центр экологической и технологической истории
ИДПО "Европейский университет в Санкт-Петербурге"
191187, Санкт-Петербург, ул. Гагаринская, д.3,
тел. (812) 279-99-21 факс (812) 275-51-39


 

Университет | Новости | Прием | Обучение | Факультеты и центры | Проекты | Научная жизнь | Библиотека | Карта сайта | Поиск | English
©2000-2006   ИДПО "Европейский университет в Санкт-Петербурге"